Rabbit - Broken Arrows (1973)

FLAC (tracks), Lossless | Label: Island Records | Rock, Pop Rock | 0:29:36 | 288 Mb Mb


01. Love, Life And Peace
02. Broken Arrows
03. I Don’t Mind
04. Ergot
05. Blues My Guitar
06. Music Is The Answer
07. Salt Annie Ginger
08. London Town
09. You’re There Somewhere
10. Boll Weeil Blues

Island Records released some interesting side projects in the ’70s, and John Bundrick, aka Rabbit, and his Broken Arrows album was one of them. As he is a much more important figure than he is given credit, having saved the day when bands like Free and Back Street Crawler needed assistance, so too this album is essential and thoroughly underrated. Members of Traffic and Free show up to help the keyboard player weave an impressive and original combination of sounds which are presented like a fusion of those two groups. Rabbit plays piano, organ, Moog synthesizer, clarinet, mellotron, harpsichord, glockenspiel and sings, all very well, mind you. “Salt Annie Ginger Tree” is heavy with gospel pop, and religious themes run through the lyrics. “London Town” begins with a folky approach, but evolves into more keyboard-laden sweetness that is the album’s trademark. Bundrick has a great sense of what mid-range sounds work, and with Jim Capaldi, Rebop Kuaku Baah, Tetsu Yamauchi, Simon Kirke, and others contributing, it is amazing that this album didn’t find a cult following of its own between the fans of Traffic, Free, and all the groups Rabbit has performed with, from Jethro Tull to Roger Daltrey, Pete Townsend, Eric Burdon, Mick Taylor, and so many others, an impressive who’s who of British rockers employing the unique sound of the man they call Rabbit. The funky instrumental “Boll-Weevil Blues” is a diversion from the rest of the disc, but it works. With all ten songs composed by John “Rabbit” Bundrick, Broken Arrows stands as the work of a one man army of sound, an album that Island treated with the respect it deserves.–Joe Viglione